People also ask
What happens if the ball goes in the basket in basketball?
After a player bounces the ball, the ball is still live, meaning that any player could theoretically grab the ball and continue playing. So if the ball goes in the basket, the goal would count. Kicking the ball in, even if it is easier for you, is not allowed (NCAA Rule 9, Section 7; NBA Rule 10, Section 4).
What are the rules for kicking the ball in basketball?
A player shall not travel or run with the ball, intentionally kick it, strike it with the fist or cause it to pass through the basket and enter the cylinder from below. This is addressed for the NBA in its rule book under PUTTING BALL IN PLAY – LIVE/DEAD BALL: Rule 6, Section I, e (2).
Does a bounce count as a goal in basketball?
Yes, a bounce that goes into the basket would count as a successful goal. Anytime (except on a throw-in) a live ball goes through the basket, it is a goal, and it doesn’t matter who, if anyone, threw the ball. From the NCAA Men’s Basketball 2013-14 and 2014-15 Rules, Rule 5 (Scoring and Timing Regulations), Section 1, Article 2: Art.
What makes a goal a goal in basketball?
Anytime (except on a throw-in) a live ball goes through the basket, it is a goal, and it doesn’t matter who, if anyone, threw the ball. Art. 2. A goal is made when: a. A live ball that is not a throw-in enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through the basket; or